[portfolio: vamos.com.sg email: foocheechang@gmail.com phone: +65 9622 9024 twitter: foocheechang]

standing still… not!

take a moment to enjoy the above photo. shot it yesterday as part of my boon lay post-dinner walkabout. it’s called ‘standing still’, and that is in direct opposition to what my heart was doing a few minutes ago.

we always hear this – back up your data, back up your data, back up your data… yada yada yada. repetition is the surest way to ensure that a message gets disregarded. so i was nearly made to pay for my complacence when i woke my mac and got an ‘invalid… error’ message on my external hard drive. come on… that’s my backup! backup drives don’t fail, main drives do! wait a minute… that is, in a sense, my main drive – since almost 90% of my photos are stored on it.

as expected, my heart stopped and i nearly had a coronary. the realisation that the photos from my commercial assignments were backed up on dvds did little to ease the stress. bluntly speaking, my personal work matters a lot more to me. i stopped ripping them onto dvds months ago due to yes, procrastination. i guess this incident comes as a timely reminder, especially with my rapidly burgeoning archives. tomorrow i am going to buy a huge stack of dvds, and get the good ol’ burnin’ going again.

anyway, i managed to repair the corrupted directory (the cause of the problem) on the drive and access the files – thanks to this wonderful software called diskwarrior 4.

don’t think i want to go through something like that again, though it is inevitable. so i am going to be as prepared as i possibly can be the next time round.

for more mac+tech posts, click here.

5 responses

  1. samina

    That’s an amazing picture! Oh and yes.. back up lesson registered!

    Sunday September 7, 2008 at 11:47 pm

  2. ee na

    near heart attack there, eh?

    i had 2 rounds of grief when my mac died on me. so yes, backing up data is a MUST. a non-techie like me shed tears of frustration not knowing what to do to sort out the problem.

    i’m very happy that you’ve woken up to the reality of technology possibly dying on you.

    Monday September 8, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  3. haha yeah things are certainly starting to fall apart. my camera is next. then the handphone follows.

    i think i am going to get 2 huge hard drives and make 2 backups.

    Monday September 8, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  4. Jinhe

    Absolutely stunning, though I have to admit I often scroll past your paragraphs of text just to get to the pictures.

    Re: Mac dying, this is probably the seventh time I’ve heard of people’s Macs dying?? I mean, Mac’s classy and everything etc. but hearing so many separate cases of crashing / near crashing makes me kind of glad I don’t have a Mac 😡

    Friday September 19, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  5. well… get a mac.

    you got a pretty good eye yourself, as your photomontage and stills will attest.

    Friday September 19, 2008 at 11:35 pm

Leave a Reply

